Skip to content

How do you Welcome New Moms to your MOPS group?

July 29, 2011

I can vividly remember my first MOPS meeting.  I had just found out I was pregnant with my 2nd child and I was filled with anxiety and apprehension because I thought for sure my children were going to be too close together in age for me to handle. (they were 22 months apart)  I walked in and was warmly greeted by the Hospitality Leader, who asked me how I was and I, not having a lot of reserve, told her about my anxiety.  She graciously and gently advised me that any age gap is perfect for whatever you are given.  Her words immediately made me feel better, helping me to relax and enjoy my first meeting.  I even announced my pregnancy that morning to a group of women, most of whom, I had never met before.  I loved MOPS immediately!

So, what do you do to make new moms at your MOPS meetings and events, feel comfortable and welcome?  Does your steering team make sure they have someone, like a wise Hospitality leader, to greet moms at the door?  Do you have a buddy system, assigning new moms to an established MOPS mom to show them the ropes?

What about at MOPS play dates at your local park or pool this summer?  Have you engaged the new mom who doesn’t know anyone with conversation, to help them feel comfortable and included?  Does the new mom leave excited that she has found a new community of moms?

To help you look at what your own group does to welcome new moms, Cincinnati Community Coach Kelly Ralston will be presenting a HOT TOPIC Call on August 10 at 9 pm, titled “How To Welcome New Moms to Your MOPS Group”.  You can discuss with other Ohio leaders and brainstorm together ways to help moms feel more welcome.  The discussion will help you to access how well your group handles new moms and gain wise insight from Kelly.

To Access the HOT TOPIC call on August 10 (9:00 pm):  dial (760) 569-7676 use Access Code: 951349

A common expression is “first impressions are lasting ones” and it is so true.  As a MOPS Leader one of your most important goals  is to always help new moms to your meetings and activities, feel welcome and comfortable.  Sometimes we get so caught up in the busyness and details of our meetings and activities that we forget about the new mom walking through the door of our church for the first time. Think back to your first meeting,  and give that new mom a reason to want to come back, help them to feel excited about what MOPS is and the gift of what MOPS can do for them!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 11, 2011 10:26 pm

    If you missed the Hot Topic Call on Wednesday night, you can listen to the Recorded Playback: To access it dial (760) 569-7699 with access code 951349

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

